Bookmark this page!  
Latest News

Jackson takes Heisman
from The AP
December 12, 2016 -

NEW YORK (AP) — Lamar Jackson has snared college football's highest honor, becoming the first Louisville player to capture the Heisman Trophy.

The sophomore quarterback accounted for a whopping 51 touchdowns this season, throwing for 30 and running for 21. He passed for 3,390 yards and had 1,538 yards on the ground to help the 15th-ranked Cardinals go 9-3 during the regular season.

Jackson's victory was the seventh largest in Heisman history. He became the youngest winner at 19 years, 352 days, a few days younger than 2013 winner Jameis Winston of Florida State.

Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson finished second in the balloting despite being the only Heisman finalist to lead his team into the college football playoff semifinals. Watson has thrown for 3,914 yards and 37 TDs this year, while also running for 524 yards and three scores.

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield was third in the balloting. Wide receiver Dede Westbrook of the Sooners was fourth, followed by Michigan linebacker Jabrill Peppers.

What do you think about it? | © 2014 | All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | EEO | Contact Us